clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patriots win the Super Bowl again

Super Bowl LIII - New England Patriots v Los Angeles Rams Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

It should be no surprise. The Patriots won the Super Bowl again.

New England won a sixth championship of the Brady-Belichick Era tonight. The Patriots defeated the Rams in Super Bowl LIII 13-3.

As the score would indicate, a game between a pair of high powered offenses was surprisingly dominated by defense. The teams entered the final quarter tied 3-3, marking the first time in Super Bowl history there was no touchdown in the first three quarters of the big game.

Ultimately a Sony Michel 2 yard touchdown drive punctuated a 5 play 69 yard touchdown drive in the fourth quarter to give New England the lead. The big play was a 29 yard pass from Tom Brady to Rob Gronkowski to set New England up at the 2.

The Rams followed with a drive to New England’s 27, but Jared Goff was intercepted by Stephon Gilmore taking a shot deep down the right side of the field.

The Patriots followed with a 67 yard field goal drive to ice the game, and that was it. New England walked away with another championship.