clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Eagles dethrone Patriots in Super Bowl LII 41-33

New, comments
Super Bowl LII - Philadelphia Eagles v New England Patriots Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

The Philadelphia Eagles are Super Bowl Champions for the first time. Philly completed its Cinderella season by upsetting the New England Patriots 41-33 tonight to win Super Bowl LII.

Like many people I was skeptical Nick Foles could replicate his stellar NFC Championship Game, but he did just that, throwing for 373 yards and 3 touchdowns, including the game-winner to Zach Ertz with 2:22 left in the fourth quarter. Foles also caught a touchdown pass on a fourth down trick play right before halftime.

The quarterback needed to be that good because Tom Brady was as spectacular as he usually is in big games. The legend threw for 505 yards. The Eagles made one big defensive play in the second half, but that was all they needed. It was Brandon Graham’s strip sack of Brady after the Eagles took the lead. Philly kicked a field goal to extend their lead to 8 and held on as the Pats got into Hail Mary range.

This is the first NFL Championship the Eagles have won since 1960. That day they handed Vince Lombardi the only postseason loss of his head coaching career. Tonight they handed Bill Belichick his third Super Bowl defeat.

2017-18 NFL Playoff Schedule

Wild Card Round

AFC byes: New England Patriots, Pittsburgh Steelers

NFC byes: Philadelphia Eagles, Minnesota Vikings

Saturday, Jan. 6

GAME 1: Tennessee Titans 22 Kansas City Chiefs 21

GAME 2: Atlanta Falcons 26 Los Angeles Rams 13

Sunday, Jan. 7

GAME 3: Jacksonville Jaguars 10 Buffalo Bills 3

GAME 4: New Orleans Saints 31 Carolina Panthers 26

Divisional Round

Saturday, Jan. 13

GAME 5: Philadelphia Eagles 15 Atlanta Falcons 10

GAME 6: New England Patriots 35 Tennessee Titans 14

Sunday, Jan. 14

GAME 7: Jacksonville Jaguars 45 Pittsburgh Steelers 42

GAME 8: Minnesota Vikings 29 New Orleans Saints 24

Championship Round

Sunday, Jan. 21

AFC Championship: New England Patriots 24 Jacksonville Jaguars 20

NFC Championship: Philadelphia Eagles 38 Minnesota Vikings 7

Super Bowl 52

Sunday, Feb. 4

Philadelphia Eagles 41 New England Patriots 33