clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens among those elected to Hall of Fame; Kevin Mawae misses out

New, comments
Celebrities Attend The Jacksonville Jaguars Vs New York Jets Game Photo by Al Pereira/WireImage

The vote for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame takes place every year the day before the Super Bowl. Eight people were selected.

  • Terrell Owens
  • Randy Moss
  • Ray Lewis
  • Brian Urlacher
  • Brian Dawkins
  • Robert Brazile
  • Jerry Kramer
  • Bobby Beathard

Kramer and Brazile were nominated by the Seniors Committee. Beathard was elected as a contributor. He was a longtime executive. His track record was so good that he made the Hall of Fame despite being the general manager who drafted all-time bust Ryan Leaf during his time with the Chargers. The rest made it as modern era candidates.

Moss, a former Patriot, and Dawkins, a former Eagle, will see their teams play tomorrow in the city where Moss began his career. Owens’ long wait is over.

Former Jets Kevin Mawae, Ty Law, and Alan Faneca were finalists. Of the three, only Mawae would really be remembered as a Jet. Law’s and Faneca’s stints with the team were short. Law’s best years were with the Patriots, and Faneca’s were with the Steelers.

It is unfortunate to see Mawae fall short, but there are no outrages here. Everybody selected was worthy.