clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kevin Mawae Falls Short of Hall of Fame; Two With Jets Ties Make It

NFL Players Association Press Conference Photo by Win McNamee/Getty Images

Former Jets center Kevin Mawae was not among the seven inductees chosen for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2017. The inductees are.

  • LaDainian Tomlinson
  • Kurt Warner
  • Kenny Easley
  • Terrell Davis
  • Jason Taylor
  • Morten Andersen
  • Jerry Jones

Two of these players had ties to the Jets, albeit weak ties. Taylor and Tomlinson were teammates on the 2010 Jets team that fell one game short of the Super Bowl. Tomlinson spent 2011 with the Jets as well, finishing up a brilliant career.

In truth, Taylor was the biggest Jets villain of his generation. His trash talk frequently went beyond the team and directly at the fanbase.

The induction ceremony will take place over the summer. I am sure this year’s class will spark plenty of debate. I see a lot of decisions here that I think are questionable. Davis in particular is one of the shakiest inductees I have seen in some time.