clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kevin Mawae Will Need To Wait For Hall of Fame

Unfortunately Kevin Mawae's name was not on the 15 member finalist list for entry into the Hall of Fame.

Brian Bahr/Getty Images

Kevin Mawae was one of the most accomplished offensive linemen of the last 20 years, and I'm confident that he will eventually get the call. However the call won't be for this class, as he was left off the finalist list revealed by the NFL Network last night.

Mawae was an 8 time Pro Bowler and 8 time All-Pro selection through his 16 year career with the Seattle Seahawks, New York Jets and Tennessee Titans. He is already a member of the LSU Hall of Fame and was named part of the New York Jets All-Time Four Decade Team.

During his career, he won the Kyle Clifton Good Guy Award (1998), Marty Lyons Award (2005) and the Ed Block Courage Award (2009). He played in 241 games, starting 232 of them.

It bodes well for his chances of making the hall that he was a semi-finalist this year. However, he will need to wait at least one more year.

Class of 2015 Hall of Fame Finalists

Morten Andersen, kicker (1982-2004, 2006-2007)

Tim Brown, wide receiver (1988-2004)

Don Coryell, head coach (1973-77, 1978-1986)

Terrell Davis, running back (1995-2001)

Tony Dungy, head coach (1996-2008)

Kevin Greene, defensive end/linebacker (1985-1999)

Charles Haley, defensive end/linebacker (1986-1996; 1999)

Marvin Harrison, wide receiver (1996-2008)

Jimmy Johnson, coach (1989-1993, 1996-1999)

John Lynch, safety (1993-2007)

Orlando Pace, offensive tackle (1997-2009)

Bill Polian, contributor (1978-1982, 1984-2011)

Junior Seau, linebacker (1990-2009)

Will Shields, guard (1993-2006)

Mick Tingelhoff, center (1962-1978)

Kurt Warner, quarterback (1998-2009)

Ron Wolf, contributor (1963-1974, 1976-2001)