clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2013: Who Will Get In?

Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE

Today voting takes place for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. There are numerous finalists who deserve to get in. Because of the silly rules in place, only five can make it. Unlike with Curtis Martin, there is no great Jet with potential to get in. Bill Parcells is the closest, but he did his best work with the Giants. There are more than five worthy candidates, but if I had to vote (and my vote actually meant something), here are the five I would choose in alphabetical order.

Larry Allen

Allen was a key cog in the dominant Dallas offensive lines that helped the Cowboys win three Super Bowls. Much has been made of the skill players the Cowboys had in those years, but what really made their offense a juggernaut was an incredible collection of talent up front. Allen was a seven time All Pro.

Cris Carter

I think it's a travesty that Carter has not made it already. He has the fourth most catches in NFL history. He led the league in touchdowns three times. He once held the record for receptions in a season. He went over 1,000 yards eight times. Everything about his career indicates he was one of the greatest receivers ever. He belongs in Canton.

Jonathan Ogden

Ogden was a nine time All Pro who allowed just 26 sacks in 177 games while protecting his quarterback's blind side and going up consistently against elite pass rushers. The Jets could have had him too with the top pick in the 1996 NFL Draft. They took Keyshawn Johnson instead. Long live Kotite!

Bill Parcells

Parcells took the Giants, Patriots, and Jets from doormat status into contenders. He is one of two coaches to have taken more than one team to the Super Bowl. He is one of the few coaches to win more than one championship without a great quarterback. He took four teams to the Playoffs.

Warren Sapp

There was a long stretch where Sapp was the game's best defensive tackle. He was also the best player on a dominant Tampa Bay defense that won a championship. The Jets could have had him in 1995, but they took Kyle Brady instead. Long live Kotite!