clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Raheem Morris Snubbed As Belichick Wins 'AP Coach Of The Year' Award

Tampa Bay Bucs' HC Raheem Morris took a young team that was 3-13 last season and manufactured 10 wins this year. What a turnaround.

Obviously, writers didn't care, and it's all about total wins and popularity. This was manifested in their most recent vote, shown below.

RT @: @ announces: AP Coach of the Year is New England's Bill Belichick.

This makes sense. I mean, it's all about the total wins, nevermind what a coach did for a program with one of the most inexperienced teams in the NFL. A team that was one lucky break, one lucky bounce away from the postseason, and had to watch a 7-win Seahawks team go on instead.

It should be noted that Morris DID finish second in the voting. Also, this is Belichick's third time winning, as he won in 2003 and 2007.

Obviously the postseason is not included in this vote, but it's funny how the Patriots got trounced out of the postseason in their opening game, for the second consecutive year. A game in which Belichick was outcoached, big time.

Maybe I'm old school, but I feel for Raheem Morris. Hoody winning this award showed that the NFL is still all about popularity.