clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New York Jets Announce 2011 Team Awards

Jets players and staff have conducted their annual voting for team awards. Here are the results.

The New York Jets announced their 2011 team awards today. As voted on by teammates, CB Darrelle Revis has been named the Curtis Martin Team Most Valuable Player, RB LaDainian Tomlinson received the Dennis Byrd Award for Most Inspirational Player, and G Brandon Moore earned the Ed Block Courage Award.

Also, the community relations department selected TE Dustin Keller for the Marty Lyons Award for Community Service, the equipment staff chose TE Josh Baker as the Bill Hampton Award winner, and DL Marcus Dixon and NT Sione Pouha were selected as honorees for the Kyle Clifton Good Guy Award as voted on by Jets staff.

The MVP is the only one based on things within in the public eye, and it is difficult to not go with Revis. He has been a standout in a disappointing season for the team. He has bounced back from an injury plagued season to absolutely dominate. The numbers 41.3 and 44.7 say it all. According to Pro Football Focus, those are the completion percentage and quarterback rating respectively of quarterbacks targeting him. He should be a top contender for Defensive Player of the Year.

Congratulations to all the winners.